Philippines, 20 Nov 2017
  Home >> News >> List of Articles >> Epifanio M. Almeda

 
Search Boxer:
First Name
Last Name


BOXERS                         

CURRENT CHAMPIONS 

FORMER CHAMPIONS   

RATINGS                       

FIGHT SCHEDULES        

FIGHT RESULTS            

NEWS                            

HOUSE NEWS                

FORUM                          

FIGHT GALLERIES        

TRAINERS                     

MANAGERS                    

PROMOTERS                  

BOXING GYMS               

RING CARD GIRLS        


 



Dong Secuya
Web Editor

Rene Bonsubre, Jr.
Contributing Editor

Homer D. Sayson
NBA Section Editor




Ronnie Nathanielsz

Rich Mazon

Eddie Alinea

Epifanio M. Almeda

Anthony Andales

Jason Aniel

Hesiquio Balderas

Sid Bañez

Brett Bonetti

Marlon Bernardino

Winchell Campos

Socrates Celestial

T. Chin-Te

Carlos Costa

Christopher Cruz

Rob Cruz

Jonathan Davis

Dr. Ed de la Vega

Lito delos Reyes

Gianluca (Rio) Di Caro

Edwin G. Espejo

Dennis U. Eroa

Ron Galarpe

Joaquin Henson

Oliver Iglesias

Dionis Jacobe

Ted Lerner

Salven Lagumbay

Reylan Loberternos

Mike Angel Lopez

Salvador Lopez

Joan Secuya-Medida

Ryan Medida

Rico Navarro

Rod Mijares

Manny Pacquiao

Gerry Peñalosa

Greg R. Penilla, M.D.

Gov. Manny Piñol

Dr. Allan Recto

Hermie Rivera

Emmanuel T. Rivera

Virgi T. Romano

Nicholai R. Roska

Maloney L. Samaco

Sev Sarmenta

Reynaldo Seno

Myron Sta. Ana

Atty. Danrex Joseph V. Tapdasan

Recah Trinidad

Reni M. Valenzuela

Mark F. Villanueva




 
List of Articles by Epifanio M. Almeda



“The referee, inside the ring, is ‘god’”

By Epifanio M. Almeda
PhilBoxing.com
02 Jun 2014



So says veteran international referee Bruce McTavish. Bruce emphasizes the finality of the referee’s ruling in a ring controversy such as to whether or not a cut inflicted on a boxer is caused by an accidental head butt or a legal punch and that, if by a head butt, whether or not it was accidental or intentional. The referee’s ruling, even if erroneous, is final in boxing.

The referee’s ruling on the cut is crucial when the fight is to be stopped after the end of the 4th round to protect the health of the cut boxer. If the cut is caused by a legal punch, the cut boxer loses the fight by technical knockout (TKO). If by an accidental clash of heads, the winner is determined by the judges’ scorecards.

The result of a fight stopped due to a severe cut before the end of the 4th round is declared a technical draw.

But what if the ring “god” does not make a ruling when the cut was inflicted? The presumption would be that the cut is caused by a legal punch.

In the first round of the Donaire-Vetyeka WBA featherweight super championship last 31 May 2014, Donaire was severely cut below the left eyebrow. The referee did not make a ruling. The fight was allowed to continue. The cut became worse and hindered Donaire’s left eyesight making him unfit to continue before the end of the 4th round.

The possibilities as to what happens to the fight are:

1.If a legal punch inflicted the cut, the winner is determined by the scorecards;

2.If the punch was caused by an accidental head butt, the fight would be declared a technical draw since the fight ended before the end of the 4th round.

A ruling was made that the cut was caused by an accidental clash of heads. The ruling was not made by the referee but by the sanctioning body fight supervisor. It was just made to appear that the ruling was made by the ring “god”. Then the bell rang starting the 5th round and as soon as it did, the referee stopped the fight. This supports the decision to go to the scorecards and explains the uniform judges’ scores of 49-46 in the 10-point must system.

Should the rule stay?

If the referee sees all and correctly rules at all times, yes, the rule should stay. But this is not the case. The referee errs and his erroneously ruling perpetuates a wrong. For this reason the rule should not stay.

During the May 14-17, 2014 2nd Philippine Games and Amusements Board Convention held in Manila, WBC Ring Officiating authority Hubert Minn stated that boxing should now go for what is right. An erroneous referee ruling which is not corrected is not going for what is right. Hubert said that in other sports, such as lawn tennis, an immediate video replay immediately settles the controversy as to whether or not a player’s serve or shot is in or out of bounds.

This immediate video replay could be done in boxing. The referee remains the ring ‘god’, albeit, with the aid of an immediate video replay in a circumstance calling for such.

Top photo: Referee Luis Pabon (R) works on the Donaire-Vetyeka fight.


Team Donaire confers after Referee Luis Pabon stopped the fight at the beginning of the 5th round.

Photos by Dong Secuya.


Back to Epifanio M. Almeda's Articles Listing



Recent PhilBoxing.com In-House articles:

  • ANCAJAS STILL RULES THE WORLD AS HE HUMBLES CONLAN IN BELFAST
    By Maloney L. Samaco, 19 Nov 2017
  • DELA TORRE LOSES BOUT DESPITE KNOCKING DOWN OPPONENT IN LAS VEGAS
    By , 19 Nov 2017
  • Kimbo Slice's Son Says Conor McGregor Should Get a Pass for Ref Incident
    By , 19 Nov 2017
  • Viloria in line for title shot
    By Joaquin Henson, 19 Nov 2017
  • Deontay Wilder Says Anthony Joshua Negotiations 'Definitely' Underway
    By , 19 Nov 2017
  • ANCAJAS WILL TAKE ANYONE IN HIS DIVISION
    By Epifanio M. Almeda, 19 Nov 2017
  • Mongolia’s Nyambayar defeats Dela Torre of the Philippines via UD in Vegas
    By Rich Mazon , 19 Nov 2017
  • Antonio finishes second in Italy World Senior Chess, Torre ties for 2nd
    By Marlon Bernardino, 19 Nov 2017
  • OSCAR DE LA HOYA FOUNDATION HOSTS 21st ANNUAL TURKEY GIVEAWAY
    By , 19 Nov 2017
  • ANCAJAS DROPS CONLAN FOUR TIMES EN ROUTE TO 6TH ROUND STOPPAGE WIN
    By Dong Secuya, 19 Nov 2017
  • Oscar De La Hoya Says GGG vs. Canelo Rematch is Happening, Likely on Cinco de Mayo
    By , 19 Nov 2017
  • WUZHATI WINS WBO ASIA PACIFIC YOUTH TITLE IN DALIAN
    By Rene Bonsubre, Jr., 19 Nov 2017
  • WILDER AIMS FOR 50-0 RECORD SAYS TRAINER
    By Maloney L. Samaco, 18 Nov 2017
  • DELA TORRE DEDICATES LAS VEGAS FIGHT TO HIS FAMILY
    By , 18 Nov 2017
  • Somodio says Ancajas can't take Conlan lightly
    By Joaquin Henson, 18 Nov 2017
  • Support this bloodless anti-droga drive
    By Recah Trinidad, 18 Nov 2017
  • Torre gains tie for first place after beating Brazilian IM in 10th round
    By Marlon Bernardino, 18 Nov 2017
  • ROMA, IMPERIAL, CONSTANTINO, PRESENTE LEAD CONCEPCION DOS CHESS CLUB BIDDERS
    By Marlon Bernardino, 18 Nov 2017
  • ANCAJAS, CONLAN MAKE WEIGHT
    By Epifanio M. Almeda, 18 Nov 2017
  • HORN-CRAWFORD NEGOTIATION STARTS IF AUSSIE CHAMP WINS OVER CORCORAN
    By Maloney L. Samaco, 18 Nov 2017





  •  




     
    PhilBoxing.com has been created to support every aspiring
    Filipino boxer and the Philippine boxing scene in general.
    Please send comments to feedback@philboxing.com


    PRIVATE POLICY | LEGAL DISCLAIMER
    developed and maintained by dong secuya
    © 2017 philboxing.com.